You are here

Burke Neurological Institute McDowell Symposium

Who Should Attend: 
Everyone is welcome


Raj's Photo
Winifred Masterson Burke Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience 
Associate Dean (affiliate), Weill Cornell Medicine
Executive Director, Burke Neurological Institute
Lauren's Photo
Academic Chief, Stroke and Vascular Neurology
Director, Basic and Translational Cerebrovascular Research Program
Associate Professor, Neurology at Yale University 
Karen's Photo
Professor and Chair, Neurology at Warren Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University
Neurologist-in-Chief, Rhode Island Hospital
Louise's Photo
Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair,
Professor of Neurology,
McGovern Medical School, UTHealth
Chief of Neurology,
Memorial Hermann Hospital – Texas Medical Center
Argye's Photo
Professor of Neurology, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and in Cognitive Science
Executive Vice Chair, Department of Neurology
Director, Cerebrovascular Division
Director, Center for Excellence in Stroke Detection and Treatment
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Rebecca's Photo
Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics,
Director, Pediatric Stroke Program Department of Neurology,
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Professor of Neurology and Attending Neurologist,
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Valina's Photo
Director, Neuroregeneration and Stem Cells, Institute for Cell Engineering
Professor of Neurology, Neuroscience and Physiology, Department of Neuroscience
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Sunghee's Photo
Professor of Neuroscience, Brain and Mind Research Institute, Weill Cornell Medicine
Director, Preclinical Stroke Modeling Laboratory, Burke Neurological Institute
Tomoko's Photo
Assistant Professor of Neurology, Weill Cornell Medicine
Director, Human Motor Recovery Laboratory, Burke Neurological Institute


Bruce's Photo
Distinguished Professor of Neurology, Geffen School of Medicine
Susan and David Wilstein Endowed Chair in Medicine and Rehabilitation Medicine
Director, Neurologic Rehabilitation and Research Program
Co-Director, Stroke Center
University of California Los Angeles
Robert's Photo
Chairman of the Board
Burke Neurological Institute
Frederick's Photo
Vladimir Horowitz and Wanda Toscanini Horowitz Distinguished Professor in Neuroscience and Biochemistry
Chairman, Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry
Weill Cornell Medicine

Dr. McDowell - Founder

Fletcher McDowell, M.D., established Burke Neurological Institute, formerly Burke Medical Research Institute, in 1978 as one of the nation’s preeminent, independent research organizations focused on furthering scientific research in the area of rehabilitation for neurological disabilities induced by stroke, spinal cord injury, traumatic brain injury, Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease. His decades of service led to the pioneering of novel rehabilitation therapies and development of innovative clinical programs and clinics. 


Friday, May 17, 2019 - 8:30am to 4:00pm


Burke Neurological Institute
785 Mamaroneck Avenue
White Plains, NY 10605
United States
Conference Room: 
Billings Building #4, Rosedale Conference Room

More Information

Christine E. Hughes


Conditions & Recovery

Stroke icon
Stroke is the leading cause of disability in the U.S.
Motor Recovery Icon
Write and walk again.
Pain and Sensory Recovery Icon
Pain free, touch and smell like before.
Cognitive Recovery icon
Remember and speak clearly.
Vision Recovery icon
See better.